Posted by: dinainsuburbia | February 22, 2015

Crock Pot Vegetable Stock

So- this really isn’t a recipe, but more of a methodology. Ever since we started our clean-eating lifestyle, it seems like we’ve been using chicken and vegetable stock more-and-more to impart flavor into various recipes. Good-Quality stock can be pretty pricey- even more so if you purchase organic. I wondered, could I make a stock out of the scraps of vegetables I would have otherwise thrown away? The answer is yes!

For 2 weeks I froze all sorts of vegetable ends: onion ends, red and green pepper ends, broccoli stalks, parsley stems, etc. Whatever i was left with, I threw in a gallon ziplock and froze. By the end of two weeks I had 1 1/2 gallon ziplock bags filled with vegetable scraps. Scraps that would have ended up in the garbage.FullSizeRender-6

I took those frozen scraps, threw them in my crock pot, and covered them with water. I then covered the crock pot and set it to low, allowing it to cook 14 hours. What developed? A flavor-intense, delicious stock with a deep color (thanks to those onion peels- leave ’em on!).

I strained the stock through a fine sieve and store in mason jars in my freezer. Let me know if you try making your own vegetable stock and what you do with the final product?

Leave a Reply

Categories

