Posted by: dinainsuburbia | January 29, 2015

Red Lentil & Sweet Potato Stew

I cooked a batch of Whole Living’s Red Lentil & Sweet Potato stew during the blizzard… I did tweak the recipe, but here it is in its original format.  I’ll go ahead & give you the ingredients since I’ve made some changes… as well as some new directions.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 TBSP of Olive Oil (or coconut oil)… i use olive oil as I’m Italian (heh heh)
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (or, to taste)
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • sea salt & ground pepper (to taste)
  • 4 cloves minced garlic
  • 2 tbsp minced ginger (TIP- a knob of ginger is way larger than what you need- store your ginger in the freezer and then use a microplane to grate in what you need)
  • 2 peeled and diced sweet potatoes (don’t dice too small as they’ll get too soft and disappear on you)
  • 2 red, yellow, or orange bell peppers chopped-or any combo there-of, just not green
  • 1 1/2 cups of red lentils, rinsed and picked over
  • 6 cups chicken broth or stock (I make my own chicken broth- I promise, it’s SUPER easy. I ALWAYS have it in my freezer and the next time I do it- I’ll take photos and blog it.. promise).

    Excuse the poor serving bowl- this was my afternoon snack!

    Excuse the poor serving bowl- this was my afternoon snack!

Heat oil in a large pot over medium heat (and I mean medium, you do NOT want any of this stuff browning) and throw in your onions until translucent, about 5 minutes. While you’re doing this, measure all of your spices in a small bowl. Once the onions are translucent, throw in the garlic, ginger and spices. Cook another 30 seconds. Throw the peppers & sweet potatoes into the pot, cook another 5 minutes, then add red lentils and stir to coat lentils in the spice.

Add the stock, bring to a boil, then reduce heat to medium low and simmer for 25-30 minutes until lentils are tender.

I plugged this into MyFitnessPal and came up with 214 calories at 6 servings in a pot. This stew is packed with 12 grams protein, and 126% of your vitamin A and 290% of your vitamin C for the day!

I know the photo is a little lack luster, but this is actually my mid-afternoon snack 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

