Posted by: dinainsuburbia | January 29, 2015

Moroccan Salmon

Unfortunately, I do NOT live close to a Trader Joe’s. OK.. well.. depending upon your definition of close.. I suppose I do- being that it’s 20 minutes away. But that’s sometimes annoying when going to the market. Yes, I know, first world problems. BUT I just want to add that the Trader Joe’s parking lot is a legitimate circle of hell. No joke.

Anyway- I bring up Trader Joe’s cause they have really great frozen fish at excellent prices (like everything else in the store- excellent prices). Their wild caught salmon is GREAT- because.. well.. it’s wild caught. I like that it’s frozen ’cause then you don’t have to like bug out and be all stressed like, “hey OMG I bought this salmon so now I MUST go home and cook this salmon”.. or you can just say.. “you know, I think I want salmon tonight and oh, hey- i have some in my freezer”. (Does it say something about me that this is what I get stressed out about?)

So.. back to the salmon. There is something about fish that intimidates people. I don’t know why. But also, I feel like people tend to cook it all the same way.. sauté in olive oil, salt & pepper.. squeeze lemon. YAWN!

Here’s an awesome, spiced-up Moroccan salmon. You can do this with steaks or filets (I used a filet). Obviously if using steaks, you’re going to need to adjust you’re cooking time.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 3/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 filets of salmon
  • 1 tablespoon olive oilmoroccan salmon

Mix all the spices together in a small bowl, then pat into the flesh of the salmon. In a heavy-bottomed skilled (preferably cast iron, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Place salmon skin side DOWN into the pan and allow to cook 2-3 minutes. Flip the salmon with a spatula and cook flesh-side down 3-5 minutes (depending upon thickness).

Serve with roasted vegetables (I served with brussel sprouts) and brown rice 🙂 Yummy deliciousness!

Leave a Reply

Categories

