Posted by: dinainsuburbia | January 15, 2012

The fugly fives?

We’ve all heard of the terrible twos, right?  I’m actually going through them right now with Joel. Full-blown tantrums, rolling on the floor, gnashing of teeth, you name it.  As bad as it seems in the midst of these tantrums, I would take one ANY day over the mouth my five year old has developed.

Hence, the new age group term I’ve coined.. fugly fives.  Madeline has quite the sassy mouth.  And that’s putting it nicely.  From the actual words she uses, to the tone, I oftentimes think I am verbally sparring with a 15 year old instead of a five year old.

I’ve tried reasoning with her; explaining that no one wants to be friends with or talk to someone that is nasty to them.  No change.  I’ve yelled at her.  No change.  I’ve threatened consequence.  No change.  

The bottom line? It’s coming full circle.  I know I gave it to my mother pretty good. This is just the universe’s way of coming around!  Funny enough, last week my daughter told my mother, “I don’t want to go home with mommy I’m scared of her.”  You might find this horrific, but I CLEARLY remember telling my own grandmother, “I don’t want to go home with mommy she’s mean to me!”  Was she mean? Of course not!  But.. she did keep me in line (or try to do so).

As my mother has said, if your kid doesn’t tell you they hate you, that probably means you aren’t doing your job! 

Leave a Reply

Categories

