Posted by: dinainsuburbia | January 1, 2011

Year in Review

I feel obliged to write a review of 2010.  General consensus was that 2010 was one bitch of a year.  So many negative things happened to people in my life- friends and family.  I lost both my grandfathers in 2010 and a well-loved step grandfather.  I feel the loss of my maternal grandfather daily- a sadness and ache that grips my heart quickly causing me to almost gasp.. and then as quickly as it came, it leaves- its only evidence is a slight moisture in my eyes.

So, how do I measure the quality of the year 2010 that I lived, faced with so much sadness?  If I were to be able to sit down and talk to my grandfather right now, I think I’d tell him that, even though there was so much sadness, that 2010 was a happy year.  I started the year with an absolutely adorable little boy in my arms, and ended the year the same way.

I made many new friends- great friends!  I count myself lucky to actually be able to make new, great friends at 35 years old!

We took a few great vacations and day trips- and were lucky enough to take Madeline and Joel on their first visit to Disney World.

I opened a new business that, I think, is the culmination of a life-long dream!

Maddie started pre-K and is getting to be such a “big girl” and sophisticated!

Joel’s walking!

Many of my friends added to their own families with adorable babies- Annabel & Penny immediately come to mind- and some babies are still in the oven and will certainly bring lots of joy in 2011!

I have a feeling that 2011 is going to be so much better than 2010- and if the joys of 2010 is any indication of what is to come, I’m super excited to see what 2011 has in store.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

