Posted by: dinainsuburbia | December 6, 2010

One year…

Joel’s first birthday has come and gone.  It is amazing how quickly a year can fly by when your are in the day-to-day of it all… I think of all the diapers, all the bottles… it’s amazing!  To think, this time last year I was cuddling with my little 7 pound 3 ounce guy in the hospital- blissfully unaware of everything else but him (Maddie wasn’t allowed in the hospital due to H1N1).

It was such a long road to get to Joel; doctor’s visits, many disappointments, tons of blood work and needles, prodding and poking.  I had such an amazing drive to get pregnant again- it was as if our two souls already knew each other and were fighting to reconnect.  I would do it all again in an instant- all the pain and craziness.  I don’t wish fertility problems on anyone- they’re so emotionally exhausting.   I think that’s what most people don’t understand- the day-to-day emotional toll, the toll on your marriage, and your relationship with others.  But here we are, one year later- so happy as a family of four, I can’t even remember what life was like with 3, let alone with just John & I!

Joel didn’t have a big birthday party like Maddie did- just immediate family and friends I’ve known for so long, the boundary between friendship and family had long since blurred.  But, like my little guy- it was a sweet and intimate celebration!

One fun thing I DID do was get him cupcakes and a smash cake  made my Long Island’s own Cupcakes Catering!  Lauren outdid herself- I asked her for vanilla cupcakes with an airplane theme and she outdid herself.  Her cupcakes are not just something pretty to look at- they are DELICIOUS!  I don’t know what she puts in the cake, but they’re moist and light-as-air!

I highly recommend all you mommies and daddies out there to get your lil’ ones a smash cake!  It was so much fun to watch Joel go crazy with the cake.  At fist, he wasn’t sure what to make of it, and took dainty bites.  But then- oh boy!  He realized how much fun it was to smash up and launch all over the house (much to the dog’s delight)!

And now, onto Christmas!  So much shopping to do!  I think Christmas morning with children is one of the most fantastic times of year.  Their excitement- the light in their eyes… life isn’t any better than that.  Money cannot buy the joy and happiness of a Christmas morning with young children! This year I’m going to even put together breakfast the night before, so all I have to do is pop it in the oven and we’ll be ready to just chill out, watch the parade, and play with all the new toys!

Leave a Reply

Categories

