Posted by: dinainsuburbia | October 13, 2010

Stupid Easy-Quick Chili

Oh dear readers and friends- it has been soooo long since I’ve written.  I apologize.  With the new business venture- not to mention the 2 kids- I’ve been so super duper busy.  I’ve also taken to leaving my laptop at the shop so I don’t feel guilty about not “working”… it’s amazing what having a computer around does to you.  I can honestly say I’m addicted!

Since I’ve been ridiculously busy with work & family, I’ve had to adjust my cooking style.   I’m constantly looking out for easy crock pot recipes and quick 20-30 minute meals.

The other day I was in target and picked up 2 pounds of ground chuck (you gotta love the expanded grocery section in Target)..  I consulted my epicurious iPhone app and found an awesome (albeit not authentic) chili that you can put together in 20 minutes.  I’ve tried to go back and find the recipe- but it appears that it’s gone.  But I remember what was in it.. because it was sooo super duper easy!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 to 2 pounds of ground chuck
  • 2 16 ounce jars of salsa (I prefer the non super chunky variety- I used Target’s Archer Farm brand)
  • 1 standard size can of kidney, black, or small red  beans
  • 1 bag frozen chopped onions w/ green peppers (if you can find it- if not, just go with the onions themselves)
  • cumin
  • chili powder
  • 1 tbsp or less of vegetable oil depending upon the fat content of the ground beef

DIRECTIONS

In a dutch oven or big pot heat vegetable oil over medium-high heat and brown ground beef.  Once beef is brown, add the frozen onions, about 1 tablespoon of cumin (or more to taste) and chili powder (be smart here- if you use a super spicy salsa, obviously you won’t need so much chili powder.  If you use a milk salsa, you might need more).  Cook for about 2-3 minutes until onions are up to temperature, then add the 2 jars of salsa and the beans (drain & rinse beans before adding them).

Simmer for 10 to 15 minutes and serve with garnishes such as shredded cheese, sour cream, chopped scallions, chopped red onion, etc.

I like mine over rice!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

