Posted by: dinainsuburbia | May 27, 2010

catch up

I am sorry, dear readers, for neglecting you.  With the two kids, part time job, and everything else being a wife and mother entails, sometimes writing a blog is last on the list.. however therapeutic it is.  There have been so many little moments I’ve saved in my mental rolodex as they were passing to share.

Joel is getting big- six months next week- and I think, finally, after six months on-the-job Maddie is relishing her roll as big sister.. albeit a little TOO much at times like when she screams, “boooooooo” in his face.  I dare say Joel’s ears are getting used to the deafening roar of her “joke” on him.  Yesterday, for the first time, Maddie didn’t want to be separated from her brother.  Maddie and I went to leave Joel behind at my mom’s so I could take her to a party and she was genuinely upset… CRYING even… ’cause she wanted Joel to come with.  But, after I explained that he’d do nothing but “slow us down” (nice, parenting, right?) she was more than happy to say goodbye with the promise we’d be back shortly.

Today Maddie had ballet and I had a chance to spy the end of her practice.. a bunch of happy-faced girls chaotically performing “lets go swimming” by Laurie Berkner… it was the CUTEST thing EVER!  Just to watch their happy little faces act out the lyric of the songs made me tear up.  And of course, Maddie has such fire in her eyes… I am not sure I can exactly put into words what and how I felt watching her dance.  Proud, yes… but overcome by the beauty of such a creature… I feel almost unworthy to have her in my life!  And Joel- already such a lady-killer- smiling and clucking excitedly every time a little girl ran by.  We are in trouble!

While reading Mornings in Jenin I came across a passage from Kahlil Gibran On Children… and I believe my mother actually read this passage at my baby shower:

On Children
Kahlil Gibran

Your children are not your children.
They are the sons and daughters of Life’s longing for itself.
They come through you but not from you,
And though they are with you yet they belong not to you.

You may give them your love but not your thoughts,
For they have their own thoughts.
You may house their bodies but not their souls,
For their souls dwell in the house of tomorrow,
which you cannot visit, not even in your dreams.
You may strive to be like them,
but seek not to make them like you.
For life goes not backward nor tarries with yesterday.

You are the bows from which your children
as living arrows are sent forth.
The archer sees the mark upon the path of the infinite,
and He bends you with His might
that His arrows may go swift and far.
Let your bending in the archer’s hand be for gladness;
For even as He loves the arrow that flies,
so He loves also the bow that is stable.

I actually read and reread that passage.. and I feel so completely and incredibly blessed to be the bow that flies my children out into the world… I cannot think of anything else I can do with my life than this.

Responses

  1. Love you D! Thanks for sharing that beautiful passage. I’m welled up… God bless you and your gorgeous family. XOXO!


Leave a Reply

Categories

