Posted by: dinainsuburbia | May 7, 2010

OPI Gel Manicure… rocks!

Yesterday I got my second OPI Gel manicure.  I waited to post a review because I wanted to get a sense of the removal process.

I really do love OPI gel manicures.  Mine lasted for 2 weeks to the day, although I could’ve probably gone a few more days as there weren’t any chips.  The worst part is the growth you get from the bottom of  your nail, which is to be expected.

This is not a traditional manicure, it’s more of a nail enhancement.  I’m no nail professional, but I’m pretty sure these do some damage to the nail, although not as bad as extensions, acrylics, wraps, etc.

The color comes in small pots, almost like a lip gloss, with a similar consistency.  In between each coat, you “cure” the nails underneath a UV light for about two minutes… most colors require at least 2 coats.  Darker polish requires 3.

They are pretty much weightless and feel like regular polish, except they don’t chip!  They cannot be removed with regular nail polish remover.  When I went to the salon, they lightly filed them off.  I actually think it’s the removal process that does the most damage to your nails.

But if you keep your nails short, it shouldn’t be too much of a big deal, and honestly, I think WORTH it to have a perfect looking mani for 2 weeks.

This is definitely going on my mommy must-have list!

Oh, and a mani costs about $25.

Responses

  1. I too like the O.P.I but the one thing I do not like is the filing do you know if there is a liquid that I could use so I could mention it to my nail salon and you are lucky you pay 25 I pay 35 every two weeks but I guess it depends on where you live. Well Im glad to hear somebody other than me likes this product do you do your feet as well if so let me know how it works out for you and I will give it a try. Thanks


Leave a Reply

Categories

