Posted by: dinainsuburbia | April 11, 2010

back on the wagon again

So… I went back to weight watchers today with my mother.  I haven’t been in about a month.  I was, at the time, on a pretty good roll.  If you’ve ever been on weight watchers, or if you ever tried to lose weight, you know how hard it is to weigh-in after a few weeks (or months, or years..) off the wagon.  As I approached the scale, my heart was in my throat, but I knew I had to face my fears and just get on it and see what was happening.  After all, nothing good can EVER come from avoidance.. be it weight loss, or anything else you are trying to accomplish.

The report?  I was DOWN.. yup!  Down!  I fully credit the crazy-long days I’ve been spending at the park with Maddie & Joel.  Hell, you HAVE to burn calories while running around after a 3 1/2 year at the park for 4 hours, right?  I have to say, I feel pretty charged right now… the meeting leader suggested that we start keeping a journal about our journey- about how we feel about the process… as so much of why and how we eat has little to do with hunger and, heck, EVERYTHING to do with EVERYTHING else!

My first step in this journaling process is to state my near-term goal: I’d like to be down 1 dress size for Joel’s Baptism mid-June and be happy the way I look in the pictures.  I think I can do it this time… I know there will be the ups and downs along the way, but I am super charged this time… and I don’t want my kids to have an over weight mom!

Responses

  1. i have found journaling is the only thing that helps when trying to lose weight. it’s so easy to be unaccountable. i recently went back to journaling *EVERYTHING* again. handful of jellybeans? they get journaled. similarly, if i do 30 mins of walking for my back, it goes down as exercise, just like running after maddie in the park should go into your journal 🙂 good luck!

  2. Love ya D!

  3. You can do it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

