Posted by: dinainsuburbia | February 15, 2010

back to the grind…

The events of the past few weeks make me feel as if I’ve been living in some type of alternate universe… first, I’m sad to say, my Grandfather passed away.  He actually passed the day after I wrote my last blog- my letter to him.  I’d like to think he knows exactly what I was thinking that day when I wrote to him. 

That night I had such a restless sleep; tossing and turning all night long.  I kept thinking of the little things.  It’s amazing, all the little things that come back  when you’re faced with not ever seeing someone again on Earth (Heaven is another story).  The click of his Zippo, the smell of his pipe, the way he used to rip off my bandaids when I wasn’t looking…  Ok, I can’t go on as I’m getting that ole’ lump in my throat again.  Yikes!  When does it get easier?  Anyway- the morning he died, I swear I woke up when he was departing this Earth (I didn’t KNOW it at the time of course) and I saw a flickering light at the foot of my bed.   Now- of course, I could be dreaming, I could have just fabricated this in my mind.. OR it could be a function of my absolutely awful eyesight.  But, heck- I’d really really LOVE for it to be true.

Then, a few days after I got home, we got dumped on by that major snow storm.  The kids and I were snow-bound.  Not pretty!  It takes a hell of a lot of energy to keep at 3 year old kid entertained.  I went ahead and cut a bunch of pictures out of some old magazines for Maddie to make some pictures with.  She LOVES to glue.  It took me about 30 minutes to cut all the photos out and 5 minutes for Maddie to glue 3 construction paper sheets full and call it a day!  Unbelievable! 

We were thankfully able to get outside for a little while as Joel napped away happily in his swing (thank you God for inventing baby swings by the way).  The snow was super wet thought, and we really didn’t last more than 20 minutes before all of our outerwear was wet!  But we did manage to make a pretty cute snowman, complete with a twizzler smile and kisses for eyes (and of course a carrot nose)!

I can’t tell who is cute- Maddie or the snowman!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

