Posted by: dinainsuburbia | July 27, 2009

hot fun in the summertime

This weekend my mother took Maddie to see The Little Mermaid on Broadway.  I know what you’re thinking, who spends $80 and takes a 2 1/2 year old to a Broadway show.  My mother.

We were prepared as we could be.  Mom downloaded the soundtrack and Maddie must have listened to the entire CD, beginning-to-end about 20,000 times.  Mom reported that Maddie clutched her play bill and smiled furiously when the overture started and she recognized the music.  Already,  a little musician in the making.

maddie5

Maddie was all decked out in her new Gap dress (yeah, it was like $30- but so adorable, no?).  I think she looks like Mrs. Roper from Three’s Company (now I’m dating myself).

Maddie1

I didn’t see the show with Mom and Maddie- I took the opportunity to hike my ass uptown to get a prenatal massage at Bliss Spa on 57th Street.  I was soooo looking forward to my prenatal massage, and while it was wonderful the effects of said massage really only lasted for like 3 hours- and then I felt all tight and wound up again.  Not to mention, I slept like shit that night (like I normally do) and had a big fuck-you fight blow out with my pregnancy pillow (what a piece of shit).

I thought I had a gift card left over to Bliss from a few Christmases ago (their gift cards never expire).  Of course, when it was time to pay, the card came up invalid.  The spa staff did some digging around with their I.T. department, and it turns out that when my gift was purchased online, there were some technical problems and the gift-givers credit card was never charged.  That’s right, my gift card was a blank.

Given that it’s 2 1/2 years later- I’m not going to SAY anything to the gift giver- ’cause that would be really shitty.  Thank god I had the cash on me to cover the $160 massage + tip.  And it WAS a really great experience to just bop around town and do what I wanted WHEN I wanted (well, within the confines of the 2 1/2 hours the show took).

We also took Maddie to the big Toys R Us at Times Square- they have a most awesome ferris wheel inside that we didn’t get to ride (too long of a line)- but Maddie WAS completely happy to ride the escalators instead.

maddie3

Come on, how cute is THAT face.

Leave a Reply

Categories

