Posted by: dinainsuburbia | July 7, 2009

mj

Phew.  What a sad day.  I wasn’t going to write about it.. and I know a lot of people (myself included) think that the coverage was completely overblown (hello- Iran? North Korea?  Anything?)- but I’m going to miss Michael Jackson.  Seriously- even though I really haven’t listened to his music in quite some while (well, aside from Off the Wall which is, in my opinion, way better than Thriller) he was a big part of my life.  At least my childhood.

I know a lot of people feel the same way- especially those between 30 and 60.  Michael Jackson’s music was a BIG part of our lives.  Even with all of his personal issues and the “weirdness” surrounding his life- we loved his music.

I was working at Tower Records when HIStory came out- summer of 1995.. one of the best summers I had and the BEST summer job I ever had as well.  Even though at that point I was more into Rage Against the Machine and Ministry, I did rock-out to HIStory when it was played in-store.  Seriously- how can you help but rock out to Rock With You, Man in the Mirror, or Wanna be Startin’ Somethin’.  You can’t.

Mostly- the Off the Wall and Thriller songs instantly bring me back to childhood: of driving in the car with my parents.  Birthday parties.  Going to the summer fair.  Hanging out with my Uncle (who, by the way, had the Victory LP and it was a PICTURE disk).  Watching MTV (when it first came out and showed videos).  Crafting a make-your-own “glove” with my cousin.  And I guess, now that Michael is gone, it feels like all those childhood moments are really gone too.. even though I know when I hear his music, I will be transported back.

Rest in Peace Michael.

Leave a Reply

Categories

