Posted by: dinainsuburbia | April 17, 2009

insomniac

It seems I’ve developed a slight case of insomnia.  Although I went to bed at 9:30 PM last night, the sweet bliss of comfy sleep wasn’t lasting, and I bolted awake at 2:00 AM just as John was settling in for the night.  Bummer.  I decided to hang out in the bathroom and read the latest Octo-Mom news in Life & Style- or some rag like it.  I daresay, some of those babies are really cute, but each with the middle name Angel? Not a fan.

As I was walking downstairs to get myself a skim milk (ah- heartburn) I heard one Madeline Paige calling out for her daddy (STILL in the middle of this daddy phase- it’s getting annoying- what am I, dirt?).  Seems she ALSO had a little insomnia and was wide awake.  Yikes!  At 2:30 AM! 

Actually, I didn’t mind.  In the quiet of the night we both had a drink (skim milk for me, watered down juice for her).  We cuddled in her bed; sweet bliss to have her nuzzled against my chest.  We talked about her little life… about no-cart races (she really means go-cart, a no-cart would sort of defeat the purpose, no?), about going to the beach with grandma, about her room, about how it was dark out.  I kissed her nose and gave her butterfly kisses.  I had her all to myself- no distractions, no TV, no toys.  It was wonderful. 

Finally, I decided it would be more comfortable in my bed.  I asked her if she’d rather move to “mommy & daddy’s bed”… of course she said OK- and her little feet padded across the hardwood floor.  We slept on my pillow- shoulder-to-shoulder.  She stayed awake a little longer; every now and then I’d catch her peeking over at me, not quite asleep, not quite awake.

If insomnia is always so blissful, I’ll gladly have a 2:30 AM date with my little girl every night!

Responses

  1. Ah, yes, there is nothing better than little fingers and little toes nudging you in the night. This is why we had a family bed with all four – heaven!


Leave a Reply

Categories

