Posted by: dinainsuburbia | February 27, 2009

Fasting

To some, fasting is an integral part of Lent.  At the very least, we are to refrain from meat on Ash Wednesday and all Fridays during Lent.  Personally, refraining from meat is just no big deal.  I like fish.  I like pasta.  I like pizza.  Abstaining from meat is a mild irritation- having to keep the “no meat” idea in the back of one’s mind so as not to slip up, and have bacon with breakfast for example.

The Pope says, “freely chosen detachment from the pleasure of food and other material goods helps the disciple of Christ to control the appetites of nature, weakened by original sin, whose negative effects impact the entire human person.” 

In that vain, I’m attempting to “fast” on Fridays during Lent by not only abstaining from meat, but by trying to abstain from heavy, extravagant meals… because for me, simply abstaining from meat isn’t that big of a deal.  Boy is this tough!  I’m a food lover- I LOVE to eat (if I didn’t, there wouldn’t be so many Weight Watchers posts, right?).  However, I believe that abstaining from extravagant meals during the Lenten season will make the Feast on Easter Sunday all the more special.

Leave a Reply

Categories

