Posted by: dinainsuburbia | February 24, 2009

Get Ashed

Tomorrow is Ash Wednesday and the beginning of the Lenten season.  For Catholic Christians, Lent is the most holy time of year.  Beginning with Ash Wednesday we begin our 40 day journey through Lent towards Easter.  It is a 40-day preparation for the celebration of Easter, in that we fast, we give alms, and we pray- to get right with ourselves, but mostly, to get right with God.

Catholic Christians take this time to look at ourselves and do a sort of self analysis- how are we doing as people?  What do we need to work on?  Where are we falling short in Jesus’ most simple command to love others (simple to say and remember, although not so simple to practice).  By fasting, we hope to come closer to Jesus’ suffering on the cross, and to make penance for the sins we committed throughout the year. 

This Ash Wednesday is particularly important to me, and to my family.  Firstly, it marks the one-year anniversary of my return to the Catholic Faith.  It was on Ash Wednesday last year that I mysteriously decided to become Catholic again.  I know it sounds dorky, but I was just compelled to attend, and we attended as a family- John, Maddie, and I.  My return to the Catholic faith has brought John into the fold as well.  This Easter Vigil he will be baptized into the faith.  We attend RCIA meetings weekly, together, and I daresay this time has not only helped grow our individual faith, but our relationship with each other. 

This holy time is a wonderful time to reconnect with God and to examine the role he plays in your life (no matter what religion you may be).  At one time I was nervous to go back to church, and wondered how I would be accepted- but now that I am back, I feel much more happy and complete than I thought I would have; so much so, that I urge those “on the fence” to give faith and their religion another try.

Leave a Reply

Categories

