Posted by: dinainsuburbia | February 18, 2009

Weight Watcher update- week 6

This morning I attended the 8:30 AM meeting.  I prefer morning meetings.  It’s great to get the meeting “out of the way” so you can go on with your day.  Also- there’s the whole weigh-in factor- I know I weigh less in the AM than the PM and it just makes me FEEL better to see the AM number versus the PM number (psycho, I know).  But heck, it keeps me motivated and attending meetings.

As I previously blogged, last week I went to the Wednesday night meeting.  I didn’t have a huge weight loss- and I was completely prepared for that.  So this week, when I bounced back to AM meetings, I knew I’d probably see some of the weightloss from last week on the scale in addition to what I did for this week… and I was RIGHT!

ANOTHER 2 POUNDS DOWN!!!! This brings my total weight loss to 7 pounds total.  I’m on a super duper roll here.  I had a few bumps in the road this week, and I’m proud that I was able to handle them and not just throw in the towel like I would have in the past.

John and I went out to dinner Friday night (it’s a family ritual- something we do every Friday)- and went to a local Cajun place, Big Daddy’s in Massapequa.  Cajun/Creole isn’t exactly known for it’s figure friendly cooking, but I figured I’d get some blackened catfish and I’d be OK.  Thanks to Weight Watchers new “set points” I was able to eat a rather large serving of the catfish, and call it just 5 points.  It worked well- but here was the big behavior change: I only ate half of what was on my plate.

For me, this is HUGE!  I’m a big, big plate finisher.  I am preprogramed to finish every morsel of food on my plate, no matter how bit or small.  But at Big Daddy’s I ate HALF- and make no mistake, this took a lot of self control AND water drinking to preoccupy myself.  But I think, now that I’ve done it once, I can totally do it again, right?  And it feels good to make these behavior changes.

I also had a kid’s birthday party on valentine’s day; my good friend Samantha’s daughter Sabrina.  Even though I wasn’t perfect on Saturday, I did really keep mindful of what I was doing, and not just snap right back into “mindless eating zone”.  This is so super easy to do at a party- and easier to do when you’re drinking alcohol- so I abstained from the hooch and stuck to water.  Not as fun, but heck, it was a kid party- how sloshed did I have to get?

I’m proud.  I feel good.  I feel like I can DO this!

Leave a Reply

Categories

