Posted by: dinainsuburbia | February 6, 2009

Low-Point, Super filling Vegetable Soup

I’ll be the first to admit that some of the Weight Watchers program suggestions are down right dork-o-la.  There’s a whole group of them called “Tools For Living”; different tools and ideas customize the weight loss plan to your own requirements.  The past two weeks, my mother started calling her low point vegetable soup a “Tool For Living” as a sort of dig on the whole dork factor of Weight Watchers.  This is also coupled with a discussion of the sheer, mind-numbing boredom of listening to another Weight Watcher recount everything s/he ate for the week, or hearing them say something absolutely ridiculous like my favorite gem, “I just don’t like water, I mean- what’s the point?”

As wacky and ridiculous as the program may be, it works a gazillion times better than me going it alone.  There’s something to that weekly weigh-in that holds you *slightly* accountable during the week.

I thought I’d share a recipe for my own personal super filling, low-point vegetable soup.  I usually eat a cup during lunch; not only does it fill me up, it’s jammed back with all sorts of vegetables- so it makes me feel that I’m keeping my vitamin/nutrient levels up.

The recipe that follows is a loose one- add whatever vegetables you like, that you have on hand, or that are in season.  You don’t need to use all fresh either- frozen works equally well, and I actually used a mix of fresh and frozen.  If you want to add something starchy- try throwing in a little brown rice. I added about 2/3’s of a cup of leftover brown rice to mine.  It doesn’t break the point bank at all, but it isn’t a necessity.  If there’s a specific spice you like, it can easily be added.  I only use garlic in mine, but I imagine some curry powder would jazz up the soup nicely.  This soup is made for experimentation.

INGREDIENTS:

 

  • 2 32 ounce containers of low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, sliced
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 4 carrots, sliced
  • 1 head of cauliflower, cut into 1″ pieces
  • 2/3rd cup frozen peas
  • 2/3rd cup frozen corn
  • 1 cup frozen green beans
  • 1 small can chick peas

 

img_4023

DIRECTIONS:

In stock pot or dutch oven, saute the garlic in the olive oil over medium heat until translucent, about 4 minutes.  Add carrots and saute 2 minutes.  Add all other ingredients and the 2 containers of chicken stock.  Bring to a boil and then reduce the heat to a low simmer.  Simmer until cauliflower is tender, about 25-30 minutes.

Responses

  1. sounds really delicious .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com

  2. Hey,
    Cool blog, I just found it and I’m already a subscriber
    I hope it’s not too brash but I have just begun writing
    my own weight loss(I went down 30 pounds in a month, so not bad
    , and I wanted to know if you could share
    my diet for your blog readers.
    My most recent post is
    weight loss supplement
    If you want to do a link exchange
    that would be excellent since I want to share my weight loss success
    with everyone. If I can lose weight then
    anyone else can too. Whatever you do, never give up and you WILL
    achieve all your weight loss goals!
    Thanks for reading,
    Joan


Leave a Reply

Categories

