Posted by: dinainsuburbia | February 3, 2009

operation move your body, in effect

I did it!  I actually got out of bed, washed my face, threw on my trainers and headed outside for a walk!  I’ve been kvetching for at least 2 or 3 weeks now (heck, longer than that really- years?) that in order to really kick this Weight Watchers thing into high-gear, that I’d need to exercise.  I absolutely LOATHE exercising.  But this morning wasn’t terrible.  It was actually quite nice!  Forty degrees out (almost), birds happily chirping away announcing the promise of Spring, the Boss on my iPod; it was a great day-starter- and actually kept me almost (shocker) happy all day long!

I walked along and a pretty good clip for 25 minutes or so; not quite the 30 minutes suggested, but sheesh- at least I was doing something right?

A few people have already started commenting on my weight loss, which is a HUGE motivator.   I actually plan on waking up early tomorrow and walking again (it would be sorta cool to take an early morning walk in new snow… if the snow actually happens).

I do have a treadmill- but I just don’t dig it.  I can’t seem to get the TV loud enough so I can hear it over the hum of the machine, I perseverate on my “baby” toe pain (why can I NEVER find a pair of trainers that doesn’t squeeze my toes to oblivion), the clock on the treadmill, the calories burned monitor, and all I want to do is STOP!  I really, really despise it!  Anyone out there have good ideas to make treadmilling more… fun?  Or- tolerable at least?

Responses

  1. I hear ya’ on the exercise drudgery thing. You may want to look at the Tabata Protocol – only takes a few minutes (so very easy to stick with) and burns fat for 24-48 hours after your workout.

    Doing it on a treadmill is a little tricky (any OTHER piece of equipment, no problem) because you have to stop every 20 seconds for a 10 second break, and the treadmill will just keep on going, so the only way is to put your feet on the side-rails, but it can be done.

    Anyway, you can find info on how to do it (and how to work up your fitness level since starting out on Tabata is like nothing else you’ve ever done) at:
    http://www.squidoo.com/fitness-model

    Just scroll about 1/2 way down for the Tabata info. Trust me, it will be the best 4 minutes of exercise you’ve ever done.

  2. I totally hate running on the treadmill! However, as I live in the frigid Midwest, 80% of my winter running is done on the treadmill. On days with no wind and above 20 degrees F., I run outside. All I do, is pop my iPod on and focus either on a tv monitor – so there’s something in my view. It’s boring, but what can I do? I also incline the treadmill anywhere from a 0.5 to a 1.5% grade to actually feel like I’m making an effort.

    If the cold days just go on and on, with no chance of a warm spell to go run outside, I do a speed workout on the treadmill one day and a ‘hill’ workout the next time I’m on the mill.

    And on the days I don’t run, I have my weight workouts or a do a row machine workout, just to mix it up a bit.

  3. Well, the Tabata Protocol is much easier on a rowing machine, and much easier to stick with than a traditional workout since it is over in just a couple minutes. There is some other info. on it at:

    http://www.tabataprotocol.com

  4. throw a towel over the miles so you can’t see how much you’re doing and put on music you like that gets you moving. after a while you crave doing exercise.


Leave a Reply

Categories

