Posted by: dinainsuburbia | January 21, 2009

And the results are in (well, almost all of them)

Today I had an appointment with a Reproductive Endocrinologist (RE).  After dealing with a regular OB/GYN for the past year trying to get pregnant, meeting with the RE was, pardon the pun, a breath of fresh air.

He immediately went through all my records that were THANKFULLY faxed over from my OB/GYN and came to a partial conclusion that I have PCOS (poly cystic ovaries).  I’ve always had an inkling this would be the case, as insulin issues run in the family (my dad is borderline diabetic) and I had gestational diabetes when pregnant with Madeline.

The doctor did a sonogram and my ovaries were, indeed, filled with cysts.  He said that my uterine lining was nice and thick though- and that was something I was super duper nervous about.  The doctor went over my HSG results as well, and also noticed the fibroid that my OB/GYN told me about.  He wants to go ahead and do a Hysteroscopy on Friday to check it out.  He said in some cases fibroids could act as IUDs- and trying to get pregnant we certainly don’t want that to be the case!

At the office, the doctor took the rest of the blood work to confirm the PCOS diagnosis.  Once fully and completely diagnosed, I’ll go on metformin to help my insulin resistance.  The RE also has me going for some bloods to check if I have any clotting disorders- he was a little concerned that I went into labor early and had a crash section because of it- and he just wants to rule out issues now.

Oh- I want to put this out there because if the RE didn’t tell me, I’d have no idea- if  you have intense ovulation pain and take Advil/Ibuprofen while trying to get pregnant, oftentimes the Advil destroys the egg!  I had no idea- there were a few months were the pain was so intense that I took the Advil.   Just something to keep in mind if you’re trying to conceive.


Responses

  1. I’m commenting on everything today- lol.

    My sister (JennyPenny on LIF) has PCOS as well. I don’t know what it’s like but I’ve seen her struggle so I feel for you!

    Thanks for the heads up about the advil! I used to be an Aleve junky- but I developed an allergy to it, so I just switched to Advil. I’ll have to find something else to combat the tension headaches since we are kinda/sorta TTC.

  2. Hello Fellow Blogger,

    I help spread awareness for the Fibroid Treatment and wanted to share these links about fertility as well as treatment for uterine fibroids in general. They are good about getting back to you when you have a questions.

    http://www.fibroids.com/blog/

    http://www.fibroids.com/Fertility.aspx

    http://www.fibroids.com/blog/post/Video-Uterine-Artery-Embolization.aspx

    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#/pages/Los-Angeles-CA/Fibroid-Treatment-Collective/22936208790?ref=ts

    Thanks,
    Judd


Leave a comment

Categories