Posted by: dinainsuburbia | January 5, 2009

Popover to My House

I decided another New Year’s resolution was to make a nice “Sunday Meal” for my family so we can all sit and eat together and talk about our week.  Of course, I cook for my family all through the week- but it isn’t a special meal, and oftentimes Maddie winds up eating first by herself while I’m preparing dinner for John and me.

For some reason, I always find that home baked goods makes any meal seem instantaneously more special.  Instead of reaching for the Pillsbury crescents, I decided to bake something from scratch.  I instantly thought of popovers. 

I used to work in a restaurant that served popovers instead of regular bread.  Served right out of the oven the are an awesome combo of crunchy bottom and amazingly light and fluffy inside with a slight egg taste. 

I served the popovers last night with an orange-honey compound butter.  They were delicious!  Since my other New Year’s resolution is to lose some weight, I won’t be making them that often as John and I polished off all of them.  They were THAT good!

While tins are made specifically for making popovers, you can make these in regular muffin tins.  The recipe below yielded 9 popovers in regular sized cups.

POPOVERS

  • 2 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup minus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  While making batter allow generously greased muffin tins to heat in the oven- this really is the key to making a popover with crisp exterior. 

In a bowl whisk together eggs, milk, sugar, and water and add butter in a stream, whisking (as butter is slightly warm from melting-make sure you whisk in slow so as not to scramble the eggs). Add flour and salt and whisk mixture until combined well but still slightly lumpy. Divide batter among tins and bake in lower third of oven 45 minutes (mine cooked in 30- so I’d say watch). 

DO NOT open the oven to check on these prior to 30 minutes- it will just make the popovers deflate. 

Orange-Honey Compound Butter

  • 1/2 stick softened salted butter at room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon of orange zest
  • 1 teaspoon of honey

 Mix all ingredients together and serve with just-out-of-the-oven popovers.

Responses

  1. I remember my family’s Sunday morning breakfasts. Long drawnout mornings filled with lots of food and conversations and newspapers. I miss those.


Leave a Reply

Categories

