Posted by: dinainsuburbia | December 23, 2008

Preparing the Feast of the Seven Fishes…

In what will no doubt become another one of those moments where I should NOT have volunteered myself for some ridiculous activity… I told my mom that I would host Christmas Eve this year and prepare a traditional Italian fish feast.

Why did I volunteer you ask?  Well, because my mother threatened to make a roast for Christmas Eve… she said the fish was too much work and she didn’t want to do it this year.  Blasphemer!  So I opened my big fat mouth and said, “don’t worry, I’ll do it.”

Yeah great…. so I’m doing it.  I put my fish order in.  Problem is- I still don’t know what recipe I’m using for the main course.  I’m planning on doing some major recipe research today and coming up with something.  Here’s the menu so far:

appetizer:  platter of shrimp & lump crabmeat with cocktail sauce, stuffed mushrooms, and a platter of assorted cheeses.

main course:  spaghetti (yes, splurged and got DeCecco at $2.48 a box- yowzer) with marinara sauce with fish- lobster tails, scallops, mussels, shrimp, fried smelts, mussels in white wine sauce, and clams oregenata.

sides:  an Italian veg (escarole, broccoli rabe, whatever looks good at the market) and an American veg (asparagus or string beans).

I’m not making any dessert- I think my mom and/or aunt is going to bring pastries…. I will make coffee.

I think this looks good, don’t you?

Oh- another problem?  I want to use my china…. but I haven’t used my China in over a year…. so it’s sort of grimy. I have to wash it all.  Nice.  I guess I’ll do this tonight.  Say goodbye to the manicure I got yesterday (festive red, by the way)… I guess I’ll wear gloves.  I refuse to put china in the dishwasher… and either way, mine doesn’t have a china cycle.

I’ll let you know how it goes & what recipes I use!

Leave a Reply

Categories

