Posted by: dinainsuburbia | December 12, 2008

well, it wasn’t good

Like we expected, John got laid off this morning.  I don’t want to go all “sad sack” here.. we’re upset, we’re angry, we’re nervous.. and we’re still anxious.

We’re trying to stay cheerful.  There are so many other people in much worse shape that we are.  We don’t have a mortgage, we have reasonable rent, we have money in the bank.  He’s also getting a severance and his bonus, and will get to keep the health insurance through end of Q1. 

So- pray that he’ll get a job before end of Q1…

Even though we got some really shitty news today:

  1. I’m grateful that even though John got laid off, that we have each other and know that we will make it through.
  2. I’m grateful for all of our health, without which we would truly be poor.
  3. I’m grateful for all the kind words of our friends and family.
  4. I’m grateful for delicious clementines- which are super cheap right now (and healthy too).
  5. I’m grateful for our daughter- when I look at her face, I know that all is right with the world.
Responses

  1. Oh, no! I’m so sorry to hear this. You’re all in my thoughts.

  2. i’m sorry too. unfortunately right before the holidays is when they let you go. it saves them from having to pay anyone a xmas bonus. i still believe everything happens for a reason. eventhough i’m still trying to figure out why everything i do turns to shit. but i’m trying to look at it this way-2008 is almost over and it was not a great year for us. i hope against hope that 2009 will be better. and i hope it’s better for you guys too

  3. That sucks so bad! I’ll be thinking of you!

  4. I’m so sorry this happened! It’s everywhere. Thinking of you and your family.
    Dynee


Leave a Reply

Categories

