Posted by: dinainsuburbia | November 29, 2008

Black Friday…

Black Friday is certainly deserving of its name.  Not because stores finally get into the black, but because of the behavior the deals offered on this day elicits from others.  I sit here and try to find the proper words for what I want to say, and it is difficult.

To learn that someone lost their life today in a stampede and a Walmart really pisses me off.  I can’t imagine seeing someone down on the ground and STEPPING ON THEM to get to a cheap XBox.  If this isn’t like the “fall of Rome”, I don’t know what is.

I just don’t know why people are so “me” centric.  I’m not trying to boast, or say that my world outlook is “right”- but I just don’t see myself as the center of everything and I always take into consideration others around me and in the world.  When people need, I give.  When people are sad, I comfort… after all, the more I do for others, the better MY heart feels.  

I cannot comprehend what type of person you have to be to literally stomp on someone to death.  I cannot comprehend ripping doors off of a building and causing harm to living, sentient beings, in order to get to a cheap thing!  

It enrages me.  To think that people like me are capable of acting like this …. it makes me ashamed to be a human being.   

Couple that with what happened in India, and I really don’t feel all warm and fuzzy about human beings right now.  There are a lot of people out there that suck- and that’s putting it mildly.

Responses

  1. I feel the same way.


Leave a Reply

Categories

