Posted by: dinainsuburbia | November 26, 2008

Rice Pudding

Two nights ago my mother said, “I think I wanna do a rice pudding for dessert on Thanksgiving.  Do you think you can make rice pudding?”

I’ve never made rice pudding before- but I figured, how difficult could it be?  Yesterday, I spent a good hour doing some research- and settled on a well reviewed recipe from epicurious.com titled rice pudding “gonzo”.  Weird, I know- but apparently this recipe comes from a fire fighter from Company 18 of the FDNY.  Company 18 took a big hit on 9/11- so it’s only fitting, for Thanksgiving, to use a recipe authored by someone to whom we should all be thankful.

This recipe has 4 forks and 168 reviews.  Upon reading the reviews, I made a few changes which you’ll find in parentheses.

Ingredients:

  • 2 quarts whole milk (I used one 1/2 gallon of 2% milk)
  • 1 cup long-grain white rice (do not rinse) (I used white jasmine rice)
  • 1 cup sugar (I reduced down to 3/4 cup)
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter (I used salted butter, and didn’t add extra salt below)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (used 1/2 teaspoon and one whole vanilla bean seeded)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (I used a cinnamon stick during cooking and used this cinnamon to sprinkle on top)

Preparation:

Bring milk, rice, sugar, butter, vanilla, and salt to a boil in a 4-quart heavy saucepan over moderately high heat, then reduce heat and simmer, uncovered, stirring frequently, until rice is very tender, about 1 hour. (I found this to be right on- I cooked this very slowly- make sure pot is JUST at a simmer- any higher and the liquid will evaporate and not get fully absorbed by the rice.  A lot of reviews had a problem with their rice pudding being too liquidy- but cooking slowly and stirring often, I did not have this problem at all.)

Just before rice mixture finishes cooking, whisk eggs lightly in a bowl. Remove pan from heat and slowly add 1 cup of rice mixture to eggs, whisking constantly. Stir egg mixture into remaining rice mixture in pan, then stir in cream. (Do make sure you temper the eggs- or else you’ll be adding scrambled eggs to your rice pudding.  Some reviewers didn’t use the cream, afraid it would thin out the consistency.  I found that I NEEDED the cream to thin out the pudding- it had gotten so thick during cooking and with the addition of the eggs.)

Pour pudding into a 13- by 9-inch glass or ceramic baking dish (3-quart capacity) and sprinkle with cinnamon. Chill pudding, covered, at least 3 hours.

Cooks’ note: •Pudding can be chilled, covered, up to 3 days.

We all took turns tasting this rice pudding- and it is delicious- a wonderful consistency, and with the reduced sugar, not too sickly sweet.  This recipe is a keeper!

Leave a Reply

Categories

