Posted by: dinainsuburbia | November 21, 2008

I did it, I bought stocks!

A few weeks, or was it months, ago I blogged about wanting to buy stocks but not sure where to start.  Well, I did it!

It’s amazing what you can learn by doing a little bit of research what you can learn.  As an analyst on CNBC said this morning, “when blood spills on the street, it’s time to start nibbling.” 

So that’s what I did!  I went ahead and took a $400 gamble on Ford buying 300 shares (we’ll see.. what’s the worse that can happen).  This bet was more for Maddie- betting that in about 15+ years when she’s ready for college, the stock will be higher and we can HOPEFULLY make a few bucks.

I also set up a bi-monthly ING sharebuilder account purchasing GE and Johnson & Johnson.  It’s not a lot- just $80/month… but hey, you CAN get rich $1 at at time!  I totally believe that.

Most of this is actually for Maddie- not for us… I don’t have a 529 plan for Maddie but do have CDs, bonds, and cash- so this will round out her portfolio nicely!

Responses

  1. I would recommend that you read my blog about the market and what is causing what is happening. It is intended for novice investors and I am building a good following. I think you will find it interesting. Let me know what you think. Fundswitching.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

