Posted by: dinainsuburbia | November 20, 2008

Trader Joe crab cakes rock!

On nights when I don’t feel like cooking something major, I am glad to have trader joe’s crab cakes on hand in my freezer.  They defrost in an hour and cook up super quick.  They aren’t all filler, either- which is rare in the crab cake world.

We’re having them tonight and I’m serving them up with a side of orzo and peas.  I love orzo- it’s one of my pantry staples.

Any pasta with peas is super easy to make.  I saute 2 cloves of sliced garlic and a white onion finely chopped in 3 tablespoons of olive oil until translucent.  I then add 1/3rd cup of chicken stock and bring to a simmer.  Once simmering, I throw in the frozen peas and heat them up.  Once the orzo is done, I throw them in the pot too.  If I’m short on liquid, I’ll add a little bit of the starchy pasta cooking water.

Finish with salt, pepper, and a generous amount of grated cheese (and maybe some red pepper flakes for some extra bite).

Easy & fast!

Responses

  1. Have you tried TJ’s goat cheese and spinach quesadillas? Pretty good too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

