Posted by: dinainsuburbia | November 12, 2008

food network week day 2: Alton Brown’s curry chicken pot pie

I confess… since Maddie’s been about a year and a half years old, I haven’t watched Food Network as religiously as I used to.  Actually, I rarely watch as it seems my television is permanently tuned to Noggin or some other channel that only features children’s programming.  While my lovely daughter is engrossed in the latest Wonder Pets episode I am able to surf the web and come up with new recipes to try.

That’s where my inspiration for Alton Brown’s curry chicken pot pie came from.  I did a search for chicken recipes (one can never have too many) in order to deplete the stock of $1.99/pound chicken breast that’s been hiding out in my freezer since the summer.

The recipe is definitely a keeper.  Based on a couple of reviews posted on foodnetwork.com, I made a few changes to the recipe.  I didn’t have cooked chicken on hand, so I pan roasted some chicken in olive oil with salt & pepper.  I used the same cast iron pan, with the pan drippings, to put my pie together in.  Aside from a small pot to warm the milk & stock, I was able to put this together in the one cast iron pan.  If you don’t yet have a cast iron pan- please go get one.  They are cheap, conduct heat wonderfully, and will become the superstar workhorse of your kitchen.

The recipe calls for cooking the frozen veg mix on a cookie sheet in the oven. I didn’t do this- but just added the frozen veg into the mix after the celery and onion were ready to go.  It took about 6 minutes for the frozen veg to come up to temperature.  Then I added the flour and curry.  Even though the recipe called for a teaspoon- I about tripled that amount.  As for the wet portion- I upped the quantity to 2 cups of chicken stock, 1/2 cup of skim milk and 1/4 cup of whole milk.

Next time around I’ll use more puff pastry and will add one chopped baking potato into the mix.  This recipe has made it into rotation.  It’s quick, delicious, inexpensive, and even my 2 year old ate it!

img_3586

 

Ingredients

  • 4 cups frozen vegetable mix, peas, carrots (I used two small boxes)
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 1/2 cups low sodium chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • 2 tablespoons dried parsley
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh ground pepper
  • 2 cups cubed cooked chicken
  • 1 package puff pastry

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Toss frozen vegetables with canola oil and spread evenly onto a sheet pan. Place into oven and cook until golden brown.

In a saute pan heat 1 tablespoon of butter and sweat the onion and celery. In another saucepan, heat the broth and milk. Add 2 more tablespoons of butter to the celery mix and cook out the water. Add the flour and curry and cook for 1 to 2 minutes. Whisk in the hot milk mixture and cook until thickened. Add the parsley, salt and pepper. Toss the browned vegetables and the chicken. Pour into a shallow baking pan, or a large terra cotta pot base, lined with foil, and top with 6 to 8 circles of puff pastry. Place into the oven and cook until puff pastry has browned and the mixture is hot and bubbly, about 25 minutes.

Responses

  1. I LOVE this recipe! It is one of my all-time favorites!
    More puffy pastry is one modification I did to it and it makes it even better. 🙂 And I always add more curry powder too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

