Posted by: dinainsuburbia | November 1, 2008

Maddie’s got the croup (I hope it wasn’t from the ball pit)!

Poor thing!  Maddie’s had a runny nose and a slight cough since Wednesday.  I didn’t think much of it as I suspected most of it was allergy related.  October in the NorthEast is always a bummer- with the trees changing it kicks up the allergens more than normal.  I only realized this last year when at a doctor visit my MD exclaimed, “it’s all allergies, you only ever come to see me in October!”

If you don’t have children, you probably don’t know that it is no longer OK to give kids cold/cough medicine due to a bunch of lethal overdoses.  All I have in my arsenal is baby vapor rub- which is OK but doesn’t do too much.  I thought we were on the road to recovery until last night, when I heard over the monitor what I thought was a zoo animal.

But, unfortunately the barking seal wasn’t a stow-away from the bronx zoo, it was my poor daughter!  I’ve only ever read about the croup- and all I knew about it was the barking cough.  I’ve since found out a little more and know there is little I can do for my baby besides make her comfortable.  The croup is caused by a virus- and since she is breathing OK, eating, and doesn’t have a temperature I know my doctor isn’t going to prescribe anything.  

This is the first time Maddie has had something non cold or ear infection related- so I can’t help but feel just slightly hopeless.  

So- today we’re shut ins.  It’s 3pm and Maddies still in her PJs and napping on the couch.  I did my usual grocery shopping- but that’s about as far as I’ve been able to get.  Oh well- I guess I’ll just catch up on my DVR’d shows!

Leave a Reply

Categories

