Posted by: dinainsuburbia | October 23, 2008

The CW’s Stylista is one vapid show.

Before I totally humiliate myself, first let me say that the ONLY reason why I was lying in bed watching the CW, (because clearly, I am not in their demographic) was because I *think* I burned a hole in my stomach yesterday when I took ibuprofin and antibiotics on an empty stomach in preparation of the HSG.  I have been having waves of pain in my upper abdomen since this morning, and I just wanted to nurse my wounds, snuggle up in my bed (sans husband AND toddler) and watch some mind-erasing television with the hopes that it would make me forget I was in pain.

And you know what?  It worked!  But not because Stylista is such a good show.  In fact, quite the contrary.  I was completely and utterly embarrassed; not only for Anne Slowey and Elle magazine, but the entire fashion publishing industry.  First, Anne Slowey seems like she stepped out of The Devil Wears Prada; in one of the opening scenes she walked through the door and threw her coat over her assistant’s desk.  Um.. Merryl Streep anyone? 

Now, don’t get me wrong- I LOOOVVVE The Devil Wears Prada.  I loved the book and I love the movie.  Why?  Well, because with the limited amount of work I did with Conde Nast publications (of which Vogue is one- supposedly the inspiration behind The Devil Wears Prada) I totally “got it”.  So much of the nuances in the “novel” where spot-on… and there was some humor in reading about something as fiction that you knew was, well, sort of true.

But look- Anne Slowey is not Anna Wintour.  And Elle is NOT Vogue.  And really, should we be viewing, as entertainment, some of the worst characteristics of human beings?  Maybe it’s because I’m coming from a place of maturity (and most of the “contestants” are in their late teens or early twenties).  Or the distance I have from the New York City working world has allowed me to see it more clearly.  But whatever it is- it isn’t cool to name call, it isn’t cool to berate people, and it certainly won’t make those people want to do a good job for you and make you more money.

Because lets face it, these are all money making ventures.  Magazines like Elle aren’t just forms of art, but money making ventures- to sell magazines, to sell designers, to make us think we NEED more things (and hey, lets not get started with that- because this NEED is what got us into our current financial mess).

Is this behavior a good thing?  Beyond the obvious (treating people with respect, yadda yadda) do we really want our high school and college students thinking that Elle is what the real, working world, is really like? That it’s Ok to step on people, to judge people, and to name-call?   

It’s ridiculous- and it really pisses me off.   Rant over.

Responses

  1. I was embarrassed for all involved, too. It seems clear they told the Elle editor to be as mean and snarky as possible and that the creators of the show watched and read The Devil Wears Prada several times. “Stylista” is also an embarrassing word.


Leave a Reply

Categories

