Posted by: dinainsuburbia | October 19, 2008

Last cook-out of the season.

I think it’s official, tonight we officially grilled for the last time until next summer.  As we close up our Weber grill until next year, I was a little sad that we won’t be able to enjoy grilled steak until next year.  

Yes, I know, the broiler comes close, but when you are used to the flavor charcoal imparts, broiling is just a sorry substitute.  

I do have, however, other season-appropriate food-stuffs to look forward to: soups, stews, roasts, etc.  Look for a blog in the coming days of a “wish list” of autumn/winter recipes that I want to tackle this year (besides my phobia of homemade, from-scratch, pie crust).

Responses

  1. I don’t have the counter space to make my own pie crusts in this kitchen, so I just use the refrigerated stuff. It’s come a long way.

    Do you subscribe to Real Simple? I made the apple and pear galette recipe today. It’s fanTAStic!!! And the recipe specifically calls for the refrigerated pie crust.

    Served it with 2 flavors of Haagen Dasz, Vanilla Honey Bee and Caramelized Pear and Pecan. Total mouthgasm.

    Here’s the link. I’m about to post it to my blog:

    http://food.realsimple.com/realsimple/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=1849825

    Seriously, don’t even hassle yourself with pie crust. I make all my cakes, breads, brownies and muffins from total scratch, but pie crust is where I draw the line. Maybe I’ll resume making it from scratch one day when I have my huge dream kitchen with gigantic, non-radioactive granite counters 🙂

  2. Oops. Obviously that comment was from Vicki, not Ethan. I didn’t notice that his info was autofilled in above when I left it. There’s only one baker in this house! 🙂

  3. Huh, the first comment didn’t even post. VERY WEIRD.

    Basically I said don’t even bother with pie crust from scratch. It’s a huge mess, usually comes out too dry and the refrigerated stuff has come a long, long way.

    I made the apple and pear galette in this month’s Real Simple today and it was amaaaaaaaaaazing. Total mouthgasm. Served it with 2 flavors of Haagen Dasz–Vanilla Honey Bee and Caramelized Pear and Pecan.

    Here’s the link. I’m about to post it to my blog. http://food.realsimple.com/realsimple/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=1849825


Leave a Reply

Categories

