Posted by: dinainsuburbia | October 17, 2008

I wish I knew how to buy stocks.

I just read Warren Buffet’s OpEd Piece in the NYTimes in which he said he’s buying up American equities at bargain basement prices left and right. 

I’ve actually already started discussing this with John; I want to take a portion of our cash savings and purchase some solid, American stocks.  But, what to buy?  Do we follow Warren’s lead and buy GE or Goldman?  Or are there other values out there that we don’t know about?

The only individual stock I ever purchased was Disney right after September 11th, which I wound up selling at a wash in order for John and I to go on our honeymoon (I know, not exactly long-term investing).

But seriously, I’d love to be able to purchase some US equities and hang onto them for 20 or more years.  I’m just slightly scared and what to pick!  I also don’t really trust anyone to tell me what to pick because they’ll tell me to pick what they want me to buy, not necessarily what’s good for me to buy.  Does that makes sense?

Anyone out there have any good pics?  Let me know!

Leave a Reply

Categories

