Posted by: dinainsuburbia | October 7, 2008

Slow cooker beef short ribs. Yum!

Since Monday night is John and my RCIA class, I need to have food prepared early so we can eat and be out of the house by 7:15.  Because of this, Monday night has unofficially become slow-cooker night.

I was happy to see Bon Appetit getting on board with the whole slow cooker thing.  October’s issue featured a family menu with slow-cooked short ribs- the link to the recipe is here.

This recipe is a keeper. I love short ribs, and have made other Bon Appetit recipes involving braising- which while not too labor intensive, isn’t nearly as easy as throwing a bunch of ingredients in a slow cooker. I think my changes made the recipe a little more complex.  Next time I might add some thick-sliced carrots as well. Make sure you salt the short-ribs generously.  I don’t think I was generous enough as I had to add quite a bit of salt at the end of the cooking time.

I served the short ribs with a green salad and brussel sprouts that I cut in half and roasted in the oven at 450 degrees with olive oil, salt, and pepper.

 

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 1/2 pounds 3-inch-long beef short ribs
  • Coarse kosher salt
  • 2 cups dry red wine
  • 1 14.5-ounce can diced tomatoes in juice (I used fire-roasted tomatoes for extra depth of flavor)
  • 1 6-ounce package sliced button mushrooms (I used sliced baby bellas)
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped onion
  • 6 garlic cloves, peeled
  • 6 fresh Italian parsley sprigs
  • 2 bay leaves
  • Crusty bread

PREPARATION

  • Sprinkle ribs with coarse salt and pepper. Place in even layer in slow cooker. Add next 7 ingredients, cover, and cook on low heat until meat is tender, about 8 hours (for me, it took about 9)
  • Using slotted spoon, transfer ribs to serving bowl. Discard parsley and bay leaves. Spoon fat off top of sauce and pour sauce over ribs. Serve with bread.

Responses

  1. Sounds delicious! Thanks for the recipe

  2. Ahh.. short ribs. I’m so excited that it’s *that* season again!

    Can I come live with you?!? I want to live in a home that has a “slow-cooker night”!!


Leave a comment

Categories