Posted by: dinainsuburbia | September 27, 2008

Wicked was pretty Wicked.. and musings on NYC.

Last night my mother and I went into New York City for a night of good wine, good food, and good entertainment.  Somehow, my mom was able to score 2 tickets to Wicked, the most popular show on broadway at the moment.  

What can I say about last night?  It was, in essence, a quintessential New York City experience.  Since we got into town early (about 4:30pm) we stopped in at my mom’s favorite bar at the Sheraton New York.  What we didn’t know until we walked through the front doors, is that the hotel was the site of CGI’s (the Clinton Global Initiative) annual meeting. 

The entire hotel was crawling with do-gooders trying to save the World.  I felt a little strange drinking $15/glass Cabernet while somewhere in the hotel conference rooms, people were talking about how to get clean water to the poor of the World.  It’s moments like these that make me realize how absolutely lucky I am to have been born into a life that is, even though not at first-glance, privledged.  Let’s face it- we have a roof over our heads, hot water, food when we want it, and money in the bank in case there is an emergency… and we have each other- what more can we need or possibly want? 

The bar is a classic, midtown haunt.  Busy, filled with “suits” thumbing through their blackberries… so not my scene.  But what the bar did have that was fabulous? Fresh, homemade potato chips.  They were thick, crispy, and just the right amount of salty to keep you drinking.  By the time my mom and I had to make it to our 2nd stop, Ben Bensons, we were both feeling a little tipsy.

Personally, I think Ben Bensons is the BEST steak house in NYC.  Not as crowded as Smith and Wollensky or Morton’s… it seems more NYC and less tourist for some reason.  We started off with the hearts of romaine salad, shared a porterhouse for two with a side of asparagus, and finished with bread pudding.  One of the best meals I had all year.

Bellies full, and still a little tipsy from the wine, we made our way over to the theater to see Wicked.  I’ve been dying to see Wicked for a few years now.  My mom had already seen the show once a few months ago, and was just as excited to see it again, albeit with a new cast.  For those of you that haven’t seen it, but want to, I’m not going to spoil it for you here.  I’ll just say that the show is from the perspective of the Wicked Witch of the West (the green one) and the story and music is wonderful.  My mom and I were moved to tears a few times (although I don’t know how much that means considering we could cry at a coffee commercial).  If you have the opportunity to go see it… GO!  Do not delay- it is THAT wonderful!

On the way home (we drove in) we passed the old Lehman buidling.. now Barclays… that was a little strange.  I have to say, if people are worried about the state of the economy and their money, you couldn’t really tell.  The bar was packed, the restaurants were crowded, and there wasn’t an empty seat in the theater.  I guess that’s a good thing.

Responses

  1. […] more like a few days… Starting last Thursday when my mom took me to see Wicked on Broadway (see the blog post about it here).  Our good friends Cathy, Bryan, and their adorable daughter Autumn came over for dinner Saturday […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

