Posted by: dinainsuburbia | September 16, 2008

refrigerator pickle debacle…. help!

Last week there was a sale on kirby cucumbers (or pickling cucumbers).  Kirby cucumbers are amongst my favorite varieties for throwing in a salad, or just for snacking on with a little salt.  If you’ve never tried them, what makes them great is that they have no gushy seeds like regular cucumbers do.  They are also the perfect size- you can put an entire one in a salad, eliminating the need to plastic wrap half a cucumber.

 

Since I’ve been canning lately, and I have a stock of quart ball-jars at my disposal.  I got to googling about refrigerator pickles.  I settled on a recipe that got pretty good reviews and that wasn’t a bread & butter recipe.  I’m a dill pickle girl all the way, and I’m trying to limit the amount of sugar I eat.

 

Here\’s the recipe I settled on:

1 1/2 pounds of kirby cucumbers

2 cups cold water

1/2 teaspoon celery seed

3 tbsp kosher salt

1 tbsp dill seed (this is where it went wrong, I couldn’t find dill seed and wound up using dill weed- I think this was a HUUUUGGGE error).

2 cups white distilled vinegar

4 cloves garlic, sliced

1 tbsp mustard seed

1 tsp red-pepper flakes

 

divide garlic, dill & cucumbers among jar of choice (I used 2 quart jars).  In large bowl mix together all other ingredients, and fill each jar with brining liquid.  
Here’s what I ended up with:

 

Looks pretty good, right?  But the taste.. UGH! Sooooo not good.

So, what went wrong?  You think the no dill seed thing?  

Anyone have another recipe I can try?  Or how about a half-sour recipe.. LOVE those.

Leave a Reply

Categories

