Posted by: dinainsuburbia | September 9, 2008

cuban black-bean stew with rice- from everyday food, review

Last night I made cuban black-bean stew with brown rice.  It’s on page 83 of the latest issue of Martha’s everyday food.   Overall, for a recipe done in 30 minutes, it wasn’t that bad!  I needed to make a few adjustments, because overall I thought it was slightly bland.  I added a jalapeno pepper (since I still have a bunch from my garden).  I probably could’ve added two… or maybe a little hot-sauce (Dave’s insanity anyone)?

Here’s a photo- doesn’t look too appetizing, I know- but it was pretty good… and I know you’re all jealous of my hello kitty rice cooker. meow.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup of long grain white rice (I used brown rice to be a little more healthy, and put it in my rice cooker- I totally cannot make rice)

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1 medium red onion, chopped

1 garlic clove minced (I think it would’ve been better with 2)

1 red bell pepper, chopped

2 cans (19 ounces each) black beans, rinsed and drained

1 can (14.5 ounces) vegetable broth

1 tablespoon cider vinegar  (next time I’d add 1 1/2 tablespoons)

1/2 tsp dried oregano (I bet a little cumin would be good too)

coarse salt & pepper (I’m a kosher salt lover all the way)

garnish:  lime, fresh cilantro & sliced radish (I used all- was super good- especially the fresh lime juice over the top)

Directions:

• Prepare rice according to package instructions.  Meanwhile, in a large saucepan, heat oil over medium heat.  Add onion, garlic, and red pepper (and jalapenos if using).  cook stirring occasionally, until onion is softened (8-10 minutes).

• Add beans, broth, vinegar, and oregano (and cumin if using).  Cook, mashing some beans with the back of  spoon (I used a potato masher), until slightly thickened, 6-8 minutes.  Season with salt & pepper.  Fluff rice with a fork.  Serve beans over rice, with garnishes if desired.

Leave a Reply

Categories

