Posted by: dinainsuburbia | September 5, 2008

My canning obsession vindicated by bon appetit… (and a recipe for canned jalapeno peppers)

I got my October issue of bon appetit in today’s mail.  Sometimes I get overwhelmed by getting yet another cooking magazine (I also subscribe to Everyday Rachel Ray and Everyday Food) I was excited to see a magazine filled with autumnal recipes.. but even MORE excited to see a feature on home canning!  I feel completely vindicated in my obsession now.  If bon appetit says it’s cool- well hey, I’m on the cutting edge of the food world!

 

There are a few sick-looking recipes: three-apple applesauce, caramel-pear butter, and drunken fig jam (with brandy) to name a few.  My step grandparents have a fig tree in their back yard which is just starting to harvest- I already put my request in.  There is nothing like fig jam with brie on toast!  YUM!

 

I can’t wait to go apple picking and try out the applesauce! 

 

This year I planted one jalapeno plant on my patio which miraculously yielded a harvest of 60+ jalapenos.  Now- I love jalapenos as does my husband.  We both love spicy food and tex-mex.  But there is only so much you can do with that many jalapenos.  Some googling later and I found a recipe for bread-and-butter style jalapenos.  I made them a few weeks ago and they are delicious on a sandwich.  They start off very sweet but give you a mean bite at the end.  If you want them not as hot, you can take the seeds off (we like spicy so I left them).  Whatever you do- get yourself some rubber gloves- do NOT cut that many jalapenos bare-handed!

Ingredients

Directions

  1. Thinly slice jalapenos and onions and cold pack into jars (make sure jars, lids & rings were cleaned in hot, soapy water). Use rubber gloves for handling jalapenos.
  2. Place remaining ingredients in large pan and bring to a boil.
  3. Pour hot mixture into jars, over the peppers and onions, leaving 1/4 inch headspace. If you run short of the juice, top with boiling water.
  4. Remove air bubbles by running a knife around the inside of the jars. Adjust caps.
  5. Process 10-minutes in boiling water bath
    Yield: about 5-6 Pints.
Leave a Reply

Categories

