Posted by: dinainsuburbia | September 1, 2008

Revisiting the blueberry jam….

So it’s been about 2 weeks since I made the blueberry jam.  I have to say, it came out very, very well and the spices I added complimented the blueberries really well.

 

What’s interesting is the blueberry jam set much more than the strawberry jam I had made previously.  I guess the blueberries have more natural pectin in them.  Either that, or it’s because I simmered the blueberries about 10 minutes longer than I did with the strawberry jam.  The strawberry jam was my first foray into jam making, so I was nervous and watched it like a hawk.  Honestly, it’s just no big deal- keep stirring to make sure the jam doesn’t scorch, but you can really let it simmer along at a good clip.

 

In case anyone is interested about strawberry jam for next year (the strawberries that are currently in the market are terrible)- you basically follow the same recipe as the blueberries- but here it is again:

 

6 cups strawberries (I hulled them and sliced the big ones in half)

2 cups sugar (you need this much sugar as a preservative)

1/3 cup lemon juice (a little zest would be nice as well- I plan to add some next year)

 

Put two saucers in the freezer (will explain later).  Put strawberries in a pot and mash with a potato masher (I left some chunky pieces in there).  Bring strawberry mush to a simmer and add sugar & lemon juice.  Continue to simmer, stirring constantly, for about 10-15 minutes until desired consistency is reached (take the saucer out of freezer, put a teaspoon of jam on it, and see if when nudged the surface wrinkles after about 1 minute or 2).

 

At this point you are ready to can (or you can just put the jam in the fridge and eat it over the next 2 weeks).  If you want to can, you should put the hot jam in hot jars (otherwise you run the risk of the jars breaking).  Process the jars in a water bath, covered, for 10 minutes at sea level (which is where I live, if you live in the mountains, just google your processing time for jam).

 

I think the recipe above pretty much works for any berry or any berry combo (blackberry, raspberry, etc)…. good luck!

Responses

  1. Very good recipe. I also have one blueberry jam recipe with honey.


Leave a Reply

Categories

