Posted by: dinainsuburbia | August 29, 2008

back to suburbia… (or, one suburbia to another)

I’m back!  

John, Maddie and I are back at home save and sound from our Florida vacation.  We sure did get around on this trip!  We landed in Orlando in the middle of Fay (not sure if it was still a hurricane or a tropical storm at that point); I picked up a rental car and made my way to Clearwater and John made his way over to Titusville (by Cape Canaveral).  Once in Clearwater I force-marched my grandparents all over the Clearwater-Tampa area.  Went to the Tampa Aquarium (lame), Busch Gardens (fun- but only did kid rides with Maddie & Dylan), hung out with family (fun), and went to Clearwater Beach (awesome).  On Monday it was time to say goodbye and make my way to Titusville with Maddie to visit my in-laws.  It was so sad to leave my grandparents.  Words cannot express how much they mean to me and how happy I am to watch them with my daughter (my grandma’s namesake).  I did so much hemming & hawing over this trip; whether to go, or not go to, and I am so glad I did.  It was a great experience for everyone.  I know that my grandparents aren’t going to be around forever, and It is my duty as a parent to make sure Maddie knows as much of them as she can because they are awesome, awesome grandparents.  Oh- the high-point of the trip was going to mass with them on Sunday and receiving communion from my grandma and her blessing Maddie- it was very sweet.

 

What can I say about the ride from Clearwater to Titusville;  it’s long and boring, about 2 1/2 hours.  We wound up rolling into town around 6.30pm with John on our heels making the way up from Florida.  My  mother-in-law had a ton of toys already set up for Maddie; Maddie came blazing in like she owned the place!  It was cute.  The next day (our only full day) we went to Titusville Beach.  I can’t say enough about that beach; it’s clean, it’s empty, and it’s completely undeveloped!  The only bad part is there aren’t ever any lifeguards- which on the Atlantic is a bit risky.  We stayed close to the sand and watched Maddie like a hawk.  I know John got a charge out of seeing Maddie play on the same beach he spent so much time on!

 

We basically stayed low-key until it was time to return on Wednesday.  I suppose we really should’ve stayed an extra day, but we were all eager to get home (even Maddie said, “I wanna go home see Molly & Jordan”). *For those of you that don’t know, Maddie can’t say Fortune (our male chihuahua) so he’s now known as Jordan and answers to it.

 

I would’ve gotten this post up yesterday, but being away for almost a week, our place was NASTY!  So I spent the day cleaning (fun) and unpacking (more fun).

 

Tonight I’m going to try crushing my mom’s excess tomato crop and freezing for later use.  I’ll fill you all in.  I was going to try and can them, but I’d need to boil them in water bath for 40 minutes, and I just can’t deal with that today!  So I’ll be freezing it!i Thank god for electricity.

Leave a Reply

Categories

