Posted by: dinainsuburbia | August 18, 2008

sometimes, all you need is a really good cup of coffee…

I have no choice, I NEED to drink coffee every morning.  If I don’t, I get a really bad headache. Yes, I know this means that I am likely addicted to caffeine.  What mother with a toddler isn’t?

Since we’ve been actively trying to save money, I’ve cut-off the “latte factor” and started brewing at home.  Why is it that coffee you make at home NEVER tastes as good as the coffee you buy out?  It just irks me.  I started buying Peets at Stop & Shop.  It’s a little pricey but at $10/pound it’s still way less than buying coffee out every day.

Since it is summer time, I really only want to drink iced coffee.  Brewing coffee and putting it in the fridge to cool down is one option, but it just never tastes as good or as strong.  Some people talk about making coffee ice cubes, so the coffee doesn’t get diluted.. but I don’t have the freezer space for that.

So, a couple of days ago I came across a blog by someone who cold-brewed coffee using their french press… I used the recipe and it works really really well.

If you don’t have a french press and you are a coffee drinker- you should.  They’re great, don’t take up a lot of space, and make a delicious cup of coffee.  The only downside is a french press doesn’t make a lot of coffee. So when you have guests (more than 2 or 3 people tops) you need to break out your drip machine. 

Oh- here’s the deal -it’s a coffee concentrate.  So you really only want to add like 1/3 a cup and fill the rest of your glass with milk (or water if you aren’t a milk drinker).  If I really wanted to do it up right, I’d make a simple syrup to sweeten it so I didn’t have grainy sugar at the bottom…

The ratio is about 1:2 1/2 coffee to water.  I put 1 cup of coffee to 2 1/2 cups of water.  I mix it up in my french press and then put it in the fridge over night (at least 8 hours, and you can go up to about 10).  Make sure you stir well to get all the grounds wet.  In the morning just stir again, and then plunge away!  What’s left should last you at least 5 or 6 mornings!

Let me know if you try it & what you think (or if you have improvements).

Responses

  1. Great idea Dina! I am also slightly addicted to coffee 🙂 however, I’ve never tried using a French Press. Sounds simple enough.
    Thanks agian!


Leave a Reply

Categories

