Posted by: dinainsuburbia | August 17, 2008

welcome to dina in suburbia….

Hello!  Welcome to my new blog.  For a few years now I’ve been blogging on MySpace. However, with the rise of Facebook, and the migration of all my MySpace friends to Facebook (coupled with my Facebook-only friends), I figured I would start a new blog independent of the two sites.  Now I can just post here- whoever reads it, well.. reads it.

Those of you who know me can skip down a few paragraphs… this is for all of those people who don’t.  I recently moved back to Long Island, New York after almost 11 years away.  During those 11 years I was living along the outskirts of New York City ’cause that’s where I was working and I wanted to be within 30 minutes of work.  I thought I would always work in New York City, because that’s where I always worked.  But then I got canned… and no more working in NYC.  

So what to do?  Me, my husband, and the kid packed it up and moved to LI to be closer to family.  We live exactly 1 mile away from my mom (probably not my husband’s idea of a good time, but hey- it helps to have family close, especially when you have a kid).

Since my move to suburbia I’ve done a bunch of things that I’ve always wanted to do, and a bunch of things I NEVER thought I’d do.. and that’s what this blog is about.

So, what can you expect this blog to be about? 

• children- raising them, dealing with them, entertaining them, educating them, etc.

• cooking & entertaining- new recipes tried out, timing, themed parties, etc.

• decorating- since we just moved in, I’ve been doing lots of things to the new place, and there are lots of things “on tap”- so I’ll blog about that too.

• crafting- I’ve been canning lately- I know.. CANNING…. it’s 2008 not 1908 I know, but I’ve gotten into it somehow.

and finally….

• how to not go crazy in suburbia…. I’m still figuring this one out.

so- that’s it, my first post… look for a new post in the next few days about some of the weird food activities I’ve been up to….

Responses

  1. You are a Suburbia! I want a blog…how come I never knew you were sharing your pearls of wisdom with the universe? I feel so left out…


Leave a Reply

Categories

